India Festival in Frankfurt

Leave a comment
Event

India Festival in Frankfurt: India at a glance

Frankfurt celebrates India at Rossmarkt. The Indian Consulate General in Frankfurt and the Friends of India Group presented this year’s India Festival with a lot of cultural performances on the 31st August in Frankfurt am Main. The motto of this year’s event was „Unity in diversity“.

The open Air event was supported from India Tourism, the city of Frankfurt, Indian cultural associations and media partner Antenne Frankfurt and Apna Frankfurt. The Consulate General Ms. Pratibha Parkar ignited ceremonial lamps during the event. This is a typical tradition in India. It stands for a new beginning. One says it brings a lot of light and luck into life. Also present were Mr. Stephan Siegler (CDU) Frankfurt’s principal city councilor und Mr. Kerry Reddington, entrepreneur and deputy Chairman of the local foreigners in Frankfurt.

Read More

City trip Bucharest

Leave a comment
Travel

City trip Bucharest: A weekend in Paris of the East

Beautiful old buildings from Jugendstil (art nouveau) to Bauhaus, sacral buildings from many epochs, besides buildings that survived the old communist system, buildings that look like old ancient temples, modern buildings – the architecture is influenced by many styles.

It feels a little bit like being in Paris, in the Balkans and in the Orient. Starting in the morning with beautiful spring weather we stroll along in the direction of the old town. On our way we get of the track and walk through backstreets that sometimes give me the feeling like being in a little village.

Read More

Mantı: Turkish pasties

Leave a comment
Food  Drinks

Dinner with friends – how Mantı came from Mongolia through Turkey to Frankfurt

A friend of mine had wished for Mantı from our friend Arzu when he last visited Frankfurt. Out of that came a great, funny and interesting evening with exciting conversation, new culinary delights and experiences.

 

Mantı are small pasties filled with minced meat. They are served with a garlic-yoghurt sauce and topped with a butter and tomato/pepper sauce. Arzu explained to us that it is believed that they are originally from Mongolia. From there, they came by Turkic people to todays Turkey.

Read More

Turkish Henna Night

comments 2
Habits  Customs  Traditions

Turkish Henna Night: An Ottoman hen night

It’s a bit like in 1001 Arabian nights. Strolling across a red carpet, past golden oriental columns, I walk up a stairway to the hall. On the dance floor, beautiful Muslim women are dancing to Turkish/Arabic music with the dazzlingly beautiful bride-to-be in the middle.

 

Behind the parquet, there are seating rows with women and mothers with children having lively conversation. There are only women attending the party. Except for the henna ceremony, the groom is allowed to join. The hall is gorgeously decorated in an oriental style. Everything is kept in red and golden shades. The colour red symbolises fertility and stands for a loving tender relationship, many children and prosperity. 

Read More

Raksha Bandhan

comments 2
Intercultural Calendar

Raksha Bandhan: A ritual about the unique bonding between a brother and a sister

Raksha Bandhan is a special hindu festival. The festival is celebrated by many Hindus, Jains and Sikhs.

 

This is a beautiful tradition: The sister ties a rakhi, a ritually blessed bracelet, around the wrist of her brother confirming the connection her sisterly love and expressing her blessing. Afterwards she hands over sweets to her brother. Typically, traditional sweets are Ladoo, Rass Malai and Rasgulla. Then the brother offers gifts and promises to protect her for his whole life.

Read More

Thai Park in Berlin

Leave a comment
Food  Drinks
Thai Park in Berlin

 

Thailand Flair in the capital

A culinary highlight for all Asian food and culture lovers is the authentic, lively Thai Park. Thai women prepare delicious Thai food under colorful umbrellas.

 

Entering the Preußenpark is like drifting into another world. The air is filled with the aroma of traditional Thai dishes, fried vegetables,  Tom-Kha-Gai soup, Thai curry, fish or even locusts for the culinary courageous. Everything is freshly prepared on little hot plates in the park. One can stroll along, enjoying the atmosphere and all the culinary highlights or just relax on the sunbathing lawn.

Read More

Carnival of cultures in Berlin

Leave a comment
Event / Music  Dance
Carneval of cultures in Berlin

Carnival of cultures: The whole world comes to Berlin as a guest

This weekend the whole world met in Berlin letting us take part at a festival of different cultures and cuisine accompanied by music.

 

The street parade, the highlight of the carnival of cultures, presented itself exquisitely colourful and extremely lively with participants from all over the world. Accompanied with bright sunshine, the parade ran through Kreuzberg with Brazilian samba, traditional Chinese lion dance, West African drums and Albanian folklore giving an insight view into all these beautiful, different cultures through dance and music, through traditional dresses and costumes. In between all this political messages got across peacefully.

Read More

Maroua Coffee – Arabic Pop up Café in the Café Opitz in Frankfurt

Leave a comment
Event / Food  Drinks
Algerian sweets

Maroua Coffee: Arabic coffee culture meets Frankfurt

An arabic day in the Café Opitz with Maroua Coffee, arabic sweets, oriental music and henna tattoos.

 

Today you are listening to oriental music in the Café Opitz. There are a lot of algerian sweets like Makroud, a paste of durum wheat semolina with dates or almond stuffing, Sablés a la Confiture, a butter biscuit or Feqqas an almond paste biscuit. A culinary delight for the sweet-toothed. For the lovers of savoury food, there are tasty filled puff pastries served with delicious Maroua Coffee. Either with or without milk.

Read More

Indien Fest in Frankfurt

Schreibe einen Kommentar
Veranstaltungen

Indien Fest in Frankfurt: Indien auf einen Blick

Frankfurt feiert Indien am Rossmarkt. Das Indische Generalkonsulat und die Friends of India Group haben das diesjährige Indien Fest am 31. August in Frankfurt mit vielen kulturellen Darbietungen präsentiert. Das Motto der diesjährigen Veranstaltung lautete Einheit in Vielfalt.

Das Open Air Event wurde von India Tourism, der Stadt Frankfurt, indischen Kulturvereinen und den Medienpartnern Antenne Frankfurt und Apna Frankfurt unterstützt. Die Generalkonsulin Pratibha Parkar hat während der Veranstaltung die zeremoniellen Lampen entzündet. Dies ist ein typischer Brauch in Indien. Er steht für Neuanfang. Man sagt es bringt viel Licht und Glück ins Leben. Ebenfalls anwesend waren Stephan Siegler (CDU) Frankfurts Stadtverordnetenvorsteher und Kerry Reddington Unternehmer und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Kommunalen Ausländervertretung der Stadt Frankfurt.

Weiterlesen

Citytrip Bukarest

Kommentare 2
Reisen

Citytrip Bukarest: Ein Wochenende im Paris des Ostens

Wunderschöne Altbauten von Jugendstil bis hin zu Bauhaus, Sakralbauten aus vielen Epochen, daneben Häuser die noch das alte kommunistische System überlebt haben, Bauten die teilweise an antike Tempel erinnern, moderne Bauten – die Architektur ist von vielen Stilen geprägt.

Man fühlt sich ein bisschen wie in Paris, auf dem Balkan und im Orient. Wir starten morgens bei herrlichem Frühlingswetter und lassen uns in Richtung Altstadt einfach dem Gefühl nach treiben. Wir kommen dabei etwas vom Weg ab und in den Seitenstraßen habe ich teilweise sogar das Gefühl in einem Dörfchen zu sein.

Weiterlesen

Mantı: Türkische Teigtaschen

Schreibe einen Kommentar
Essen  Trinken

Abendessen mit Freunden – oder wie die Mantı aus der Mongolei über die Türkei nach Frankfurt kam!

Ein Freund von mir hatte sich für seinen letzten Frankfurt Besuch von unserer Freundin Arzu Mantı gewünscht. Daraus wurde ein super lustiger, interessanter Abend mit spannenden Gesprächen, neuen kulinarischen Freuden und Erfahrungen.

 

Mantı sind kleine mit Hackfleisch gefüllte Teigtaschen. Sie werden mit einer Knoblauch-Joghurt Sauce und darüber einer Sauce aus Butter und Tomaten/Paprika serviert. Sie haben, wie Arzu uns berichtete, wahrscheinlich ihren Ursprung in der Mongolei. Von dort kamen sie durch die Turkvölker in die heutige Türkei.

Weiterlesen

Türkischer Henna Abend

Kommentare 4
Traditionen  Sitten  Gebräuche

Türkischer Henna Abend: Ein osmanischer Junggesellinnenabschied

Es ist ein bisschen wie in 1001 Nacht. Über einen roten Teppich, vorbei an goldenen, orientalischen Säulen, gehe ich die Treppe hinauf zum Saal. Auf der Tanzfläche tanzen zu türkisch/arabischer Musik viele wunderschöne, muslimische Frauen und mittendrin die strahlend schöne Braut.

 

Hinter dem Parkett sind Sitzreihen mit Frauen und Müttern mit Kindern die sich alle angeregt unterhalten. An der Feier nehmen ausschließlich Frauen teil. Nur zur Henna Zeremonie am Henna Abend kommt der angehende Bräutigam hinzu. Der Saal ist prachtvoll morgenländisch dekoriert. Es ist alles in Rot- und Goldtönen gehalten. Die Farbe Rot symbolisiert Fruchtbarkeit und steht für eine große Liebe, viele Kinder und Wohlstand.

Weiterlesen

Raksha Bandhan

Schreibe einen Kommentar
Interkultureller Kalender

Raksha Bandhan: Das Fest der geschwisterlichen Verbindung

Raksha Bandhan ist ein wichtiger Feiertag im Hinduismus. Er wird von vielen Hindus, Jains und Sikhs gefeiert.

 

Eine wunderschöne Tradition: Die Schwestern knüpfen ihren Brüdern ein Rakhi, ein rituell gesegnetes Armband um das Handgelenk und bestätigen damit die Verbindung und ihre schwesterliche Liebe und drücken ihren Segen aus.

Weiterlesen

Thai Park in Berlin

Kommentare 2
Essen  Trinken
Thai Park in Berlin

 

Thailand Flair in der Hauptstadt

Ein kulinarisches Highlight für alle Liebhaber von asiatischem Essen und Kultur ist der authentisch, lebendige Thai Park. Unter bunten Sonnenschirmen kochen Thailänderinnen hier leckeres, thailändisches Essen.

 

Wenn man den Preußenpark betritt, taucht man in eine andere Welt ein. Es riecht nach klassischen, thailändischen Gerichten. Ob gebratenes Gemüse, Tom-Kha-Gai-Suppe, Thai Curry, Fisch oder auch Heuschrecken für die kulinarisch sehr aufgeschlossenen, alles wird frisch zubereitet an den Garküchen im Park. Man kann sich treiben lassen und die Atmosphäre genießen, sich durchprobieren und auf der Liegewiese entspannen.

Weiterlesen

Karneval der Kulturen in Berlin

Schreibe einen Kommentar
Musik  Tanzen / Veranstaltungen
Karneval der Kulturen in Berlin

Karneval der Kulturen: Die ganze Welt zu Gast in Berlin

Dieses Wochenende versammelt sich die ganze Welt in Berlin und lässt uns teilhaben an ihrer kulturellen und kulinarischen Vielfalt und Musik.

 

F arbenprächtig, lebensfroh und vielfältig präsentiert sich der Umzug, der Höhepunkt des Karnevals mit ihren Akteuren aus fast allen Erdteilen. Bei strahlendem Sonnenschein zieht er durch Kreuzberg mit brasilianischem Samba, chinesischem Löwentanz, westafrikanischen Trommeln bis hin zu albanischer Folklore. Ein Einblick in die so wunderschönen unterschiedlichen Kulturen durch Tanz und Musik, durch Trachten und Kostüme. Und dazwischen auch politische Botschaften friedlich vorgetragen.

Weiterlesen

Maroua Coffee – Arabisches Pop up Café im Café Opitz in Frankfurt

Kommentare 2
Essen  Trinken / Veranstaltungen
Algerische Süßigkeiten

Maroua Coffee: Arabische Kaffeekultur trifft auf Frankfurt

Ein arabischer Tag im Café Opitz mit Maroua Coffee, algerischen Süßigkeiten, orientalischer Musik und Henna Bemalung.

 

Im Café Opitz hört man heute orientalische Musik. Es werden viele algerische Süßigkeiten angeboten wie zum Beispiel Makroud, eine Paste aus Hartweizengrieß mit Dattel- oder Mandelfüllung, Sablés à la Confiture ein Buttergebäck oder Feqqas ein Mandelgebäck. Ein kulinarischer Traum für orientalische Naschkatzen. Und für die Liebhaber von Herzhaftem gibt es leckere gefüllte Blätterteigtaschen. Dazu wird köstlicher Maroua Coffee serviert, wahlweise mit oder ohne Milch.

Weiterlesen